The first Dean of the Faculty was Prof. J.A. Veltrop.  The present Dean is  Prof. O.U. Oparaku, a professor of Solid State Electronics.  There have been 23 past Deans of the Faculty since its inception.  There are 21 Professors and a total of 70 academic staff in the Faculty.  50% of the academic staff strength are in the Senior Lecturer cadre and above.  The Faculty of Engineering has a total of 2438 students in the six departments of Agricultural and Bioresources Engineering, Civil Engineering, Electrical Engineering, Electronic Engineering, Mechanical Engineering and Metallurgical and Materials Engineering.  The highest number of students is enrolled in the Department of Electronic Engineering while the least number of students are found in the Department of Agricultural & Bioresources Engineering.  The results of students of the Faculty of Engineering approved by the University Senate for the 2011/2012 for the session revealed that the Faculty produced 190 first degree graduates, and 15 higher degree graduates.  The Department of Metallurgical and Materials Engineering graduated their pioneer students within this session.

Within the period under review the Faculty of Engineering held its Golden Jubilee   Anniversary Celebrations during the 14th Herbert Macaulay Memorial Lecture (HMML) held from 25th to 28th July 2012.

The 14th HMML had the theme “The Role of the Power Sector in Achieving Nigerian Millennium Development Goals.”  The Honorable Minister for Power, Federal Republic of Nigeria, Professor Barth O. Nnaji, NNOM, CON was the distinguished 14th HMML Lecturer.  His Excellency, Senator Dr. Chris Ngige, OON was the Chairman of the 14th HMML, while Engr. Emeka Eze, FNSE, DG, Bureau of Public Procurement under The Presidency was both the Co-Chairman of the Golden Jubilee Celebration and the Keynote Speaker at the 14th HMML.  The venue of the Golden Jubilee Celebration and the 14th HMML was at the Hall of Fame in the University of Nigeria, Nsukka.  The theme of the Symposium to mark the Golden Jubilee Celebration of the Faculty was “Building a World Class University.”  Three papers were presented during the symposium held on 27th July 2012.  Paper 1 was titled “Engineering Regulations in Nigeria” by Engr. Otis Anyaeji, FNSE, FNIMECH, the Chairman/CEO, O.T. Otis Engineering.