The Faculty of Engineering in the University of Nigeria, Nsukka Enugu State was established as a College of Engineering in 1961.  The establishment of the College, later named Faculty of Engineering became the first Faculty of Engineering in University in Nigeria.

The first Dean of the Faculty was Prof. J.A. Veltrop.  The present Dean is Emenike Ejiogu, a professor of Electrical Engineering.  There have been 25 past Deans of the Faculty since its inception.  50% of the academic staff strength are in the Senior Lecturer cadre and above.  The Faculty of Engineering has a total of 2438 students in the eight departments of Agricultural and Bioresources Engineering, Biomedical Engineering, Civil Engineering, Electrical Engineering, Electronic Engineering, Mechanical Engineering, Mechatronics Engineering and Metallurgical and Materials Engineering.

The Faculty of Engineering has a total of 106 teachers. There are 2,348 undergraduate students and 337 postgraduate students in the Faculty giving a total student population of 2,775.

Dean, Faculty of Engineering

Engr. Prof. Emenike Ejiogu

You can click on Techno_Dynamics_Magazine to get further history/insight of the Engineering Faculty